Tuesday, November 25, 2014

CA Senate Special Elections

Five California state senators were elected to congress. Two of these, Democrats Norma Torres and Ted Lieu, elected not to run for re-election in order to run for congress. Three of them, however, Republicans Steve Knight and Mimi Walters, as well as Democrat Mark DeSaulnier have terms that run through 2016. Each will resign sometime before they are inaugurated into congress in January. So there's no election year. But why wait? Democratic Assemblywoman Susan Bonilla is in, even before she takes the oath of office for another term in the assembly. Outgoing Assemblywoman Joan Buchanan, who represents an assembly district neighboring Bonilla's, hasn't announced but is running. Republican Mark Meuser, an attorney, who lost this seat in 2012 61.5%-38.5%, is also running.

Yesterday Republican assemblyman Don Wagner, who also awaits being sworn in for another term, announced his run for the 37th State Senate District. Assemblyman Scott Will has announced he won't run for Steve Knight's senate seat. Woah! What's the deal here? Well, Wagner and Bonilla both were elected the first time in 2010 and operate under the old rules that allowed legislators to serve 6 years in the assembly and 8 in the senate. So each will be in their final terms. Will was elected in 2012 and can serve in the assembly through 2024. A businessman named Sal Chavez has announced his bid. We should expect more candidates when these state senators actually do resign.

No comments:

Post a Comment